Coconut chocolate chocolate chip banana muffins

I’m not saving any space saying double chocolate. These are too delicious for that.

Recently I made double chocolate macaroons for Margo as a Valentine’s Day gift. Those turned out super awesome. If you make these double the sugar, you won’t be sorry.

This evening feeling a want for chocolate, my favorite candy-ish thing ever, I decided maybe I could make something with my ripe banana, left over coconut shavings, chocolate powder, and chocolate chips. What’s delicious, great on the go, and always good with coffee or a glass of milk? Muffins!!!

I’m going to share with you my recipe for making muffins. I did this off the top of my head with a general idea on how to make muffins so it is by no means dialed, but it won’t disappoint as is.

What you need: 1 1/2 cup of flour(I used all purpose and a a half cup of buck wheat flour), 1 cup of coconut shavings, 1/2 a cup of cocoa powder, 3/4 cup of chocolate chips, 1 tsp of baking powder and 1 tsp of baking soda, 1/1 tsp of salt, 1 cup of soy milk, 1 ripe banana, 3 Tbsp of water, 2 Tbsp of ground flax seed, 1/2 cup of sugar, maybe an additional sweetener like agave nectar, 1/2 tsp of  both vanilla and almond extract and 3 Tbsp oil.

Turn the oven on to 375. Mix all your dry ingredients except for the chocolate chips. In a small bowl mix the water and ground flax seeds, set that aside. in another bowl mix all the wet ingredients including the banana. Get that well mixed and I sometimes add a little lemon juice so when it contacts the baking soda it makes carbonation and thus makes the dough fluffy. Fold in the wet ingredients about 3 times. Then add the chocolate chips. Fold another 6 times. Its cool if some things are slightly dry. It gives the muffins character. use a 1/3 cup measuring cup and plop this mix in a muffin tin and then throw them in the over for 25 minutes. Stick em with a tooth pick to make sure they’re cooked through. They will be moist, so don’t over bake them.

About andrewpierre

Riding endlessly over rolling hills, breathing in the sweet summer air, being in a place over looking farms and distant forests is where I dream of being. I'm a creature of habit who is always searching for a new experience within something I've been doing for the last decade. I being the introvert I am process everything internally and am seeking a place to regurgitate what I am thinking so I can look back and see what the hell I was doing and how I got to where I am today.

Leave a comment